Thursday’s Special: Unnerving Eye Contact

Paula’s Special this week is’ Eyes and Eye Contact’. I decided to go for the literal meaning, and post a couple of owl photos taken on different occasions through my bathroom window. I have no idea whether owls actually have thoughts, but if they do, I’d love to know what was behind this stare and the fact that his beak moved as though he were saying something to me.

DSCN9572

Owls are often said to be wise, but maybe it’s just their unflinching stare that makes them look wise. They are mainly nocturnal birds, and I read that in bright light their sight isn’t that good, which is why they appear to be staring. They’re just trying to get you in focus.

DSCN9368

Whatever the reason, that eye contact was quite unnerving, but I was happy to get the photos.

Hope your weekend will turn out to be a good one.

jupiter-widget_text-e1395873810536

Save

75 comments on “Thursday’s Special: Unnerving Eye Contact

  1. It’s not just that they stare. It’s that their eyes are so large, almost too large for their “face”. Thank heavens he isn’t myopic. Having a Marty Feldman-like owl staring into my bathroom would be too unnerving. πŸ™‚

  2. Research shows that many birds can recognize a human face, they try to determine whether a person is a friend or a foe. Maybe this owl is just trying to memorize your face …as a friend I’m sure πŸ™‚

  3. Wow, it’s rare to get so close in daylight to an owl, Sylvia. I was wondering what he was trying to tell you, just as I read Sue’s comment above and then I just laughed and laughed. πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Thursday’s Special: Eye Contact | Lost in Translation

  5. I so wish I could get some photos of our resident horner owls. I love these. Owls aren’t the brightest bird because most of their brain is taken up by their visual center. They seeeee you!

Comments can start a conversation. :)

