WPC: Mirrored Water Reflections

The Weekly Photo Challenge ‘Mirror’, encourages us to show some of our best reflection photos.

This is one of my favourites taken at our local nature reserve, where it looked like the sky had fallen down into the water.

DSCN4951

In Costa Rica, a single lotus blossom floating on really still water, was an absolute must to photograph.

DSCN0952

This lovely canal scene in Amsterdam, also has to be included.

F1020015

I never tire of the view from my backyard, and often try to imagine all the creatures busily going about their daily chores in those trees and also under the water. Probably that’s where all my ‘Backyardigans’ sleep at night and I’m pretty sure that there must be an alligator or two lurking there.

DSCN6763

I hope you enjoyed my mirrored reflections, and wish all my American blog friends a great Labor Day. Hope this week will be a good one for all of you.

I participate in WordPress' Weekly Photo Challenge 2016

I participate in WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge 2016

 

 

93 comments on “WPC: Mirrored Water Reflections

  1. These are fabulous, Sylvia. I love your backyard shot. Is the water tidal salty or still (lake like)? I’m not as familiar with alligators as I am with crocs who need salt water to survive.

  2. Sylvia it does appear that the sky has fallen into the lake. All the images are spectacular however the first does make one wonder if one is walking upside down after a crazy night on the town. πŸ™‚

  3. Each one of these is frame-able, Sylvia! I loved the Amsterdam one for its beauty in buildings, the first clouds falling into water, for your description and the lily pad, a singular delight reminded me of how Claude Monet was moved by the water lilies.

  4. well I already said nice chatting – but had to let you know that the nature mirror series here is wonderful. my favorite is the one that looked like the sky fell. If Chicken Little happens to make it to your yard – and I am sure his descendants are with the fine feathered friends down there – well be sure to show them – lol
    anyhow, it reminds me of art by RenΓ© Magritte

  5. The lotus photo has the stillest reflection. Just beautiful. Still I like all of your examples; that Amsterdam canal shot reminds me of some paintings I’ve seen of the place.

    • Of course you would, Pussycat. Kitchen is almost finished, but the floor in there will be just about the last thing to do, because it’s at the opposite end of the house, and C has to finish painting walls and door frames first. I’m more interested in when we can get my piano delivered. Could be as soon as next week. πŸ˜ƒπŸ‘―

  6. I thoroughly enjoyed all your reflections today, Sylvia. Each one was a lovely photo, impressively done. And I smiled at your reference to your wildlife “backyardigans.” Great post. My favorite photo is the lotus reflection, because I loved seeing the roots under the water too.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

