Macro Monday: Sammy is Samantha

Sammy squirrel has once again managed to empty the bird feeder in record time, and yesterday found something else to eat. Sitting onย  the ‘Top of the Rock’, I got a really good look at his/her chest area, and came to the conclusion that Sammy is actually short for Samantha. My blog friend Robin of ‘Witless Dating After 50’ blog had mentioned that this might be the case, after looking at one of my earlier photos.

dscn1774

She looks to my unpracticed eye to be pregnant, which is probably why she has been attacking the bird seed with such gusto. I have to admit that unlike Sammy, I was never able to run up a palm tree or hang upside to eat when I was expecting my babies.

A sad ending to my story is that I have just this minute received a phone call from one of the Board members of our community, to say that bird feeders are not allowed here, as they may attract rats and geese. I told her that I’ve never seen any rats and that it’s hung much to high for geese to reach, but she said that it’s a general rule and there can be no exceptions. I’m feeling more than a little fed up about it, as I so enjoyed seeing the beautiful birds flying back and forth, not to mention the antics of Sammy squirrel.

I wish you all a great week. Now I really must get on with some packing of cases.

mm2badgeintrofinal_zps09e45e9a

138 comments on “Macro Monday: Sammy is Samantha

  1. Darned rules and regulations. I’m surprised the world doesn’t grind to a halt with all of them. My mother has the most incredible array of bird feeders in her garden and I’ve never seen a rat anywhere near the place. There are deer, foxes, and hares (all at the same time, too busy eating bird food to bother about each other), but rats, no.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

