WPC: My Local Beach

Here I am back at my ‘local’ beach in South Africa for a few weeks. Since I last posted, we’ve spent time in London, then visited our daughter in Johannesburg, and now we’re happily ensconced in our beachfront apartment with a view. Umhlanga Rocks is the seaside town we called ‘local’ for fifteen years.

dscn1794

It seemed like we’d never been away, when on our early morning walk, the iconic red and white lighthouse came into view.

img_0490

There were fisherman on the rocks and cargo ships waiting to go into port, just as there always were.

fullsizerender-7

A prayer meeting of huddled worshippers was in full swing, their voices clearly audible above the sound of the crashing waves.

img_0506

The familiar sight of the pier with it’s whale-bone shaped arches, really made me feelΒ  nostalgic.

fullsizerender-9

Looking down at one obviously very dedicated sunbather, was quite a ‘sight for sore eyes’ as my Granny used to say. Hubby told me that his scanty swim suit is what is known as a ‘Budgie Smuggler’, which made me laugh out loud.

FullSizeRender-6 2.jpg

As we wended our way home for breakfast, the sky had turned a gorgeous shade of blue, and my favourite lighthouse in all the world was looking its very best.

img_0495

So, no Iguanas or Sammy squirrel here to show you, although I have seen a couple of local monkeys around. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get some photos if they stay still for long enough.

Wishing you all a very happy weekend. Tonight we’re meeting my sister and her husband for dinner at one of our local restaurants.

I participate in WordPress' Weekly Photo Challenge 2016

I participate in WordPress’ Weekly Photo Challenge 2016

Save

123 comments on “WPC: My Local Beach

  1. So beautiful, wonderful to visit your old haunts with you through your beautiful photos, and so lovely for you to take this trip down memory lane dear Sylvia. I too laughed out loud at the ‘budgie smugglerl’…love that saying…and good job you didn’t take a close up, lol!!! πŸ˜‰ ❀ xxx

    • Thanks, Marsha. Love your description of the “hot-headed lighthouse.” The lovely brick path came about after the old path was washed away by very high tides. It was a blessing in disguise, because the whole of the promenade got redesigned and widened. It’s such a lovely place to walk. πŸ™‚

  2. Absolutely beautiful my friend. Your beach and lighthouse are gorgeous. I could see myself snorting around and poking at Mr. Sunbather with my snout – snorts with piggy laughter. XOXO – Bacon

Comments can start a conversation. :)

