WPC: Anticipating Antarctica

Well, here we are on our ‘Bucket List’ cruise, and after leaving Valparaiso on Monday, our first port of call was Wednesday when we weighed anchor just off the coast of Puerto Montt.

DSCN2160.jpg

dscn2158

Once ashore, I was able to get a good photo of our cruise ship, the Seabourn Quest.

DSCN2181.jpg

It started to pour with rain and we had to run for shelter, but after a while, when it subsided we ventured out again and made our way into the town. Not very inspiring, but we pressed on.

DSCN2163.jpg

The town is a real hotch-potch of old and new buildings; mostly old.

dscn2166

This house on the hill looked quite pretty, if in need of a bit of a haircut.

dscn2164

Graffiti in Chile is everywhere,

dscn2201

as are the street dogs. Someone told me that they are called ‘Scrap Dogs’, because they exist on the scraps of food which they can find.

dscn2213

This sweet one had made her bed in among the clover.

dscn2216

We passed a sad-looking fun fair, in the process of being taken down.

dscn2227

This rather strange-looking  sculpture loomed large, with no explanation as to who this couple represented.

dscn2203

We found our way to the local mall, but didn’t stay long, as there  was a frenzy of Christmas shopping going on.

dscn2209

The smaller markets were colourful and far more interesting.

DSCN2172.jpg

One could buy almost anything there.

DSCN2173.jpg

On our way back to the ship, we found an old steam engine.

DSCN2176.JPG

a few busts of long dead naval heroes,

dscn2222

and a couple of old anchors made into a sculpture.

DSCN2231.jpg

One thing I hadn’t anticipated, was being mugged by a bag-snatcher as we navigated our way around some rather large puddles when we neared the harbour. This six foot youngster came up from behind and grabbed my shoulder bag. I held on tight, so he yanked it really hard, breaking the leather strap, and pushing me over in the process. Hubby gave chase and made a grab for him, just as he ran into the road, dodging through the busy traffic. Thankfully, there was no way, my man was going to risk his life following the thief any further. Happily for me, a couple of burly workmen saw what was happening and tackled him when he got to the other side. They got my bag back for me and crossed the road, waving it aloft and beaming triumphantly. I was so grateful that I could have kissed them. It was a very unpleasant experience, but all’s well that ends well.

I may not be able to blog again before Christmas, so I wish you all a very happy one. Tomorrow, we are anticipating seeing our first glacier as we start our six day Antarctic experience.

Merry Christmas everyone.

I participate in WordPress' Weekly Photo Challenge 2016

Save

57 comments on “WPC: Anticipating Antarctica

  1. Your photos reveal a city that is a collection of such diverse sights, Sylvia. Walking about would have been quite an experience — without the mugging. How awful! So glad that you weren’t injured and that your bag was retrieved intact. Now it’s on to Antarctica!!!

  2. This was an upsetting occurrence, Sylvia! Don’t carry much cash or Traveler’s checks around! I had my purse stolen two times last summer (once in the library!) People don’t realize how hard it is to replace driver’s license without identification and get new phone and glasses! xo Merry, happy holiday travels, dear friend!

  3. What a horrible experience, Sylvia. Your post gives no indication of your trauma until the very end. The place, in general, does not invite me to visit. From the wirey skies to the unshaven house, and expressionless couple on the bench, it does not seem like a happy, well-cared for vacation spot. :(. Have a great cruise. Be safe. Have a Merry Christmas tomorrow. I am on my way Monday to see Carol and Leanne. It’s amazing how much bloggers become part of your life over the years. 🙂

    • Thanks so much, Marsha. Yes, it was very traumatic and I have a few bruises and scrapes to remind me of the attack. Today we go ashore in Punta Arenas to see the ‘red roof town’, and learn about the tycoons of Patagonia. A rather different way to spend Christmas Day. Looking forward to it. Hugs to you. Marry Christmas. xx 🙂

      • You certainly have an exciting life, Sylvia. Be safe. I just read a quick article about two of those tycoons because I did not even know where Patagonia is. Fascinating. Keep us informed. 🙂 Hugs back for a Merry Christmas.

  4. Enjoy your trip and happy holidays to you both! So glad to hear that the purse snatching was not successful and neither of you was injured in the process.

  5. Well, you’re getting all of the local flavor, for better or worse! Glad you got your bag back. When in Rome, my ex-husband got his wallet stolen out of his front pants pocket. The money wasn’t the issue; the credit cards were. At least I got to see the inside of an Italian police station. He wouldn’t let me take a picture of us in there, though. No sense of humor, that man! 😐

  6. Glad you got your bag back, and no one is hurt. probably just use a “bumbag” or put everything you need in pockets. These are great pictures.impressions of Chile. Wishing you a safe journey and a merry Christmas to both of you! Enjoy!

  7. What a shock that mugging was for you both and those of us reading along but so glad you weren’t hurt and some good Samaritans intervened! Enjoy that fantastic trip you have ahead of you and looking forward to future posts.

  8. Sylvia I’m sorry to read about your horrid experience, I hope you both feel okay now. Onwards and southwards to your exciting destination, have a very Happy Christmas!

  9. Sylvia I’m so sorry to hear about the mugging! Thank goodness you and your husband weren’t hurt and that two strangers jumped to your aid. Hoping all has gone smoothly from now on. Happy holidays and so looking forward to reading more. Xo

  10. What an eventful start, Sylvia! Bah! Pesky muggers… at this time of the year to boot! Hope you’re OK. And enjoy the rest of your cruise.
    I’ve pre-prepared the rest of the comment as I’m hastily trying to catch up…
    My visiting, replying, commenting and the like have fallen a little by the wayside of late, for which I apologise, but wanted to call by today and wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

  11. Glad there was a happy ending there Sylvia … very unpleasant and scary . We loved watching the *Pot dogs Grenada take themselves off in little groups to have fun at the beach and then saunter back home for their scraps from the cooking pot 🙂
    Have a fantastic time aboard Seaborun Quest . Look forward to hearing about your adventures and seeing your photos . Happy Christmas to you and your DH !

  12. Hi Sylvia!
    I enjoyed so much your read and photos about this Antartica experience!
    I’m sorry for your bag accident , but agree with you (and Shakespeare ) that All’s well….. Etc
    Hope you enjoy the rest of the adventure and wish you and Hubby the most joyous Happy Holidays!
    A big hug,
    A.

Comments are closed.