Colourful La Boca Loca

Our Antarctica cruise ended in the port of Buenos Aires, and some of you may remember my post recounting the mugging incident as we were dropped off in La Boca. I found it quite difficult to enjoy the rest of the afternoon, as I was looking over my shoulder most of the time. Hubby is made of sterner stuff, though and got some photos of this very colourful historic area.

El Caminito, meaning ‘little walkway’ is now a street museum.

DSCN4154

The houses are made of tin, and I was told that this is what the old houses were constructed from, because the people were very poor and had to use whatever materials they could lay their hands on. The mismatched paint colours were of necessity, as they were just using up any leftover paint they could get cheap.

DSCN4131

The ‘papier mΓ’chΓ©’ residents peered down at us from the balconies.

DSCN4129

The murals at eye-level were really rather surreal.

IMG_2118

IMG_2117

Many small shops offered souvenirs and local artists’ work for sale,

DSCN4127

although I’m afraid that even the Pope couldn’t lure us inside to buy.

DSCN4126

This little sidewalk cafe looked quite inviting, but our guide was in a hurry to get us out of there and on to the next place.

DSCN4149

Although La Boca is very kitsch and tourisy, some of the artwork is really pretty.

DSCN4148

On our way back to the car, we saw a mural which looked to be a tribute to brave firemen.

DSCN4152

We passed by more shops and restaurants. The tango theme was around every corner.

DSCN4164

Then it was back to the market where hubby’s attempted mugging took place. I was by this time, very hot and tired and dying to get in the car’s air conditioning.

DSCN4159 Finally, it was time to leave La Boca and head into the city with its faded grandeur.

DSCN4103

Arriving at our hotel safe and sound, was quite a relief.Β  We had been up very early for disembarkation from the ship, and our tour had been 8 hours long. I collapsed onto the bed, worn out after so much walking in the heat of the day, and was mildly amused to see that we were now expected to practise Argentina’s national dance. Not happening!

FullSizeRender

There will be more posts from our trip when I find the time to look through the photos.

Hope your Tuesday is going well.

Save

Save

62 comments on “Colourful La Boca Loca

  1. Sylvia, I may have already said how sorry I was for your mugging incident and was glad your husband managed to shake the scary mood. I still am not thoroughly comfortable at our local library due to my purse being stealthily taken. One ceramicist librarian who is my friend says the man who pleaded down to a misdemeanor from 5th degree felony charge still comes in. (2 years in May, over Mother’s Day weekend)
    I loved the flowers and flourishes on the pretty antiquely decorated place. The Mexicans are rather “macabre” especially during the day of the dead (but you know what? I kind of like the bizarre characters on this post! πŸ˜€
    The cafe was really pretty and festively decorated, Sylvia but maybe food wouldn’t have settled too well. hugs xo

    • Thanks, Robin. I can understand your lingering disquiet even two years on from that horrible incident. I’m sure that I will always be wary when in a strange place. It’s sad not to be able to trust our fellow humans, because of a few ‘bad eggs’. 😘

      • I live a block from the library and the prosecutor said the man used his long feet while on a computer facing me, pulled it towards him and put it in his backpack. Surveillance tape video. I don’t. Know what he looks like since no court case! Thanks for listening to a bit of frustration or angst. I appreciate people who let it go! Which I normally do! XO πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. I enjoyed the colorful photos but I’ll never want to visit. I’m sorry to say but I bet that getting back to the hotel and relaxing was the best moments of that unfortunate day.

  3. So sad that the incident was looming overhead as you toured. I don’t think I would have taken the tour. I’m short which leaves me quesitoning whther I’d be able to manage nay difficult incident. You were brave to go on. Collapsing at the end of the day sounds like my style when I’ve had to ddisembark early form the ship.
    You captured the color and community lifestyle very well. I look forward to more
    of your photographs. BUT … won’t be visiting anytime soon. So sad ….
    Isadora 😎

  4. You did well on that day … The mugging & then the heat would have finished me off! Or having to live in the heat in a tin house! Amazing! Thanks for the tour (& hubby for the pics)

  5. I have a low tolerance for walking around in the heat, so I can understand your feelings. It’s rather a shame because so often I didn’t enjoy a visit simply because I was too hot and tired.
    This area looks like a lot of fun to browse. It’s the kind of place I could have happily poked around for a while πŸ™‚

  6. viaggiando capitano anche queste cose! ma compensato dalla meraviglia, dalla fantasia, dai colori, dalla vivacità di questo angolo così particolare di cui hai saputo regalarci un magnifico reportage
    ( povero Papa Francesco lo mettono anche come icona dei bar ha ha ha , ormai Γ¨ dappertutto! )
    felice sera cara

  7. This town looked so cutsey and inviting. I’m like you though. It would have left a bad taste in my mouth from the attempted mugging. Which is terrible in the little town for tourists. How awful it must have been my friend. Thank goodness you are both safe. Hogs and snout kisses. XOXO – Bacon

  8. Traveling has its high and low points always; you two were certainly put to the test. I’m glad and impressed that you were both able to hang in there for a visit to La Boca, Sylvia. Great photos.

  9. Very colourful and interesting – but it must have been awful to have to live in such conditions. Did you ever master the tango? There seem to be too many feet in there to me (but mine are both left, so what do I know?)

  10. I’d missed the post re the near-mugging, thanks for the link back. Interesting to see the mausoleums, they were quite ornate! And cobwebby. This is definitely a colorful side of town!

  11. A very nice photo. tour of the place. The place is really artful. It is photogenic. I guess there is no insulation or inner wall of the tin houses. In summer, I can imagine you have to avoid touching the tin wall in side of the house as it could burn your hands.

  12. A colourful place Sylvia. Sorry I missed your other post about the mugging. I’m surprised hubby was able to even take his camera out of his pocket, but glad he did. When we were mugged in Namibia it totally shook us up and I was a nervous traveller for several years afterwards. It’s not an experience you want to end your holiday on. BTW your sunset on the other post was amazing!

  13. Wow, I enjoyed your walk between those colourful buildings. My sister and I visited La Boca in 1971/72. The walls were all already painted in different colours but those paper mache figures were not luring on the balconies. The wall paintings were also not that many like in your photos. They were also less modern. I still have my photos in my album on our visit to South America.

Comments can start a conversation. :)

