Thursday Doors: My Red and White Front Door

Norm,  the ‘world’s youngest grumpy old man’, invites us once a week to share our door pictures.

After two years of hard labour on hubby’s part, the work on our ‘abandoned house’ is almost complete. The inside is looking great and hubby has just finished painting the exterior. The last thing to be painted was the front door, which I decided should be bright red. The door is south-facing, and according to the rules of Feng Shui, red is the perfect colour and invites good energy into your home,  although I only found that out after my decision, so I think that was rather clever of me.

DSCN4783

The inside of the door is white, as it goes better with my decor. I hope that’s okay.  Too bad if it’s not. 🙂

DSCN4781

Do pop over to see Norm’s gallery of interesting doors in Montreal’s China Town district.

Save

106 comments on “Thursday Doors: My Red and White Front Door

  1. This looks like a Palazzo or palace in Italy along the coastline, Sylvia. I adore the red colored door. I am enchanted with the pretty, light yellow stuccoed exterior color of your home. It is so warm and inviting. Many blessings to you and your dear husband. ❤ xoxo

  2. Your abandoned house is really coming beautifully together. And that door is the icing on the cake. Perfect choice of colour, and who cares what came first, the decision of the knowledge, as long as it is right. 🙂

  3. Fabulous looking door, Sylvia!! I notice the color matches the color of the tiles on your roof. Cool. And what you have done is amaaaaaazing! Oh to have my home looking like yours. Mine is SO lived in right now on account of all the four footed angels about, hubby and I have to wait until they go to Heaven to get our house in order. LOVE that chandelier. *drool*. Love, Amy ❤

  4. Your place looks so posh Sylvia 🙂 Love the double doors! I am fancying double doors myself, so much easier to get the furniture in and out than the nasty narrow ones we have in the UK. And your red door reminded me of my feng shui post about doors. My current door is totally wrong!!

  5. Goodness, you are grand! 🙂 🙂 Glad to know you’ve got good Feng Shui, even if it’s only on the outside. Enjoy your weekend and your lovely home, Ad.

  6. Too beautiful. Considering those first shots you posted, way back then …. this is marvelous.
    He is a very clever feller, your husband! But you know that, of course.

  7. Happy to see your “red” front door Sylvia – yes, your hubby did some amazing work on your home. Beautiful inside too!! Have a lovely weekend.

    • I went back to your posts of last Fall showing off the incredible work that your husband has done in your home, from the dome to the barrel ceiling – for me just an exquisite amount of remodeling that you has done on his own. Love the crystal chandelier hanging over your piano, which BTW looks fantastic in 7ft of it!! Sylvia your home has turned out so beautiful, there needs to be a story of this in “house beautiful” or “better homes and gardens.” I’m amazed. Is he a contractor/carpenter by trade? There is incredible craftsmanship shown throughout the place.

      • Thanks so much, Mary. Hubby is by profession an electrical engineer. He does this as a hobby, and never ceases to amaze me at how he just manages to work everything out and that he does everything single-handed with no help at all. He has limitless patience to make everything absolutely perfect and remains calm in adversity, which is very important. 😀

      • Your photographs shows his impeccable work. A beautiful place and hopefully you guys will be there for many years before he gets the itch to start another project!! Love where your piano is situated – we would love a concert from you. Anyway you could record and post for us to enjoy?

      • I hope so too, Mary. He’s done lots of work on all the houses we’ve lived in, but I think this is probably his swan song. I’ll have to work out a way of recording and posting a tune for you. 🙂

  8. I think it’s beautiful. Mom has often said she would love a red front door as well. There’s just something so inviting about red on the outside of your home. It’s a very lovely color sweet friend – happy Friday. XOXO – Bacon

  9. Ah, now that’s a beautiful door and about Feng Shui, I think that a basic rule in F.S. is surrounding yourself with whatever makes you happy so… I’m not surprised it coincided with your decision! 😉 xxxxx

  10. You’ve done a great job and I love the red door. That’s the colour I would like for ours when we replace it. We’ve just started our renovations so your photos have given me a taste of what can be done, thank you.

  11. I’m so glad to stop by. Seeing the progress on your house renovating, it’s like checking in and getting a news from a friend. Keep me posted whenever. 🙂

  12. Love the red. I had no idea that red invites good energy into the home, I have always aligned our beds the right way etc but I am not sure red would suit the doors of our old French farmhouse! I shall just have to admire yours instead!

Comments can start a conversation. :)

