Having Fun On A Windy Day

It’s been a strange sort of vacation, with far too much time spent in doctors’ waiting rooms, hospital X-ray department, CT Scan and Bronchoscopy units. There is no part of my lungs which haven’t been minutely inspected and scrutinized. My persistent cough is apparently due to nothing more serious than chest inflammation and sensitive airways. I’m now on my third lot of antibiotics plus a course of corticosteroid tablets which actually give me nightmares. For example, last night I dreamed that I was staggering around with a fold-up bed on my back, looking for hubby who was supposed to be meeting me with the car. My cell phone wasn’t working, so I couldn’t call him. Luckily I woke up before I got too tired of lugging the bed around whilst totally lost. So many pills that I do believe were I to be shaken, I’d rattle.

On the bright side, I’ve seen quite a lot of my darling sister and a few very dear friends. We’ve had some really fun times together. Here after dinner, we had just discovered that our fingers are actually identical in length.

FullSizeRender

Today is the last day in our beach front apartment here in South Africa. Tomorrow we drive up to stay with our daughter in Johannesburg for the weekend, before flying to England on Monday to see hubby’s soon to be 104-year-old mom, Kathleen.

We have a splendid view of the Indian Ocean from our balcony and yesterday hubby took these photos of intrepid guys having fun in the surf. I think it must feel really awesome to do this.Β  I’m not much of a water-baby myself,Β  but I do enjoy watching them.

DSCN4888

 

DSCN4904

DSCN4891.JPG

DSCN4897 2

DSCN4896

I may not be able to blog or comment for the next week or so until we get back home to Florida on July 4th. I wish you all a very good week and will see you again soon.

 

80 comments on “Having Fun On A Windy Day

  1. Sylvia hope you are feeling better at this point- I came looking for you- I had somehow missed this post and was unaware of your travels and ill health. Hoping England was fun and that you are home safe now

    • Thanks so much, Lisa. Yes, we are back home and have since driven up to NJ to spend my birthday with son and family. Unfortunately, tomorrow I have to have macular hole repair surgery on my left eye, the same as I had on my right eye in South Africa last October. If it’s not one thing, its something else! 😦 Hopefully it will be as successful as the other one was. I’ll be back here hopefully before too long. πŸ™‚ xx

  2. Oh Sylvia, I am sorry to hear about corticosteroids, and I know that antibiotics aren’t fun either. Your sense of humour will get you through this. It must be a relief after so many doctors visits. xx

  3. Oh Sylvia, I’m so sorry to read this, only getting on here about once a moth, I guess I’ve missed a few things? Sending some good vibes your way.. with a prAyer πŸ™ or 2. . Hope your feeling your self soon!!!!

  4. Dear Sylvia, I am so sorry to read about your medical travails, but so relieved that the doctors now know what has been troubling you. Always such a shame to have it happen on holiday, I hope that you are now fully recovered by the time you read this and enjoying immensly your time in England with darling MiL πŸ™‚ ❀ Beautiful photo of you and your sister – and great shots of the windsurfers. My brother used to do it, but not me…like you, I would rather take the photos πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚ xxx

      • Hi Sylvia…just quickly checking in here as things are crazy at home, we were supposed to move this Friday but a problem at the bottom of the chain threatened to blow it all apart. Still waiting for confirmation it’s on but had to cancel the removal van and everything. Nightmare. I am trying my best to keep calm, but it’s not easy. I hope by now you are fully recovered and back to enjoying life in full and I’ll catch up with you as soon as I can πŸ™‚ xx

    • Oh dear, I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you that the removal goes off without any more hitches. Moving house is a very stressful experience at the best of times. Yes, all is good here, but now we are busy preparing for a few weeks away up north visiting our son and family for my 70th birthday. On our return journey, we’ll be visiting friends in N Carolina for a few days. Life is always busy, and it will be good when I can just relax for a few months and enjoy just living here. Love and hugs my special friend. Take care and try to stay calm. xx

      • So sorry for my very late reply dear Sylvia. I’ve been in a bit of a fog to say the least. Our house move that was supposed to happen didn’t. On the day of exchange of contracts the entire chain collapsed (7 parties). It’s been a nightmare time. But…we are picking up the pieces and our house is back on the market and we’re hopeful we can fix this mess with both our sale and purchase. Meanwhile, I’ve been pretty absent from FB and all social media as I disabled all my apps on my phone temporarilly with all this other stuff going on as I wasn’t doing that great. But enough of that…I am using this brief lull to focus 100% on my memoir. For a while I couldn’t write at all, but I have found my flow again and this time I want to see it through to those final revisions that I’ve wanted to work on for so long. So a silver lining of sorts, because, as you know, this has been going on for so long now and I just want to write my book! It helps me cope with the awful stress, I can disappear from it all… I am so sorry for missing your posts and any updates you might have put on FB (but I did see today as I went on their via my laptop for a brief check, and so glad because I see today is your birthday and I didn’t want to miss that, so good timing for once!) I hope you have a really wonderful day my wonderful friend! Your 70th…wow! You don’t look it, far from it, you are beautiful, vibrant and youthful in looks and spirit and you inspire me to hold onto to all that’s good in life, in the blessings and love of family and friends and all that really matters. You will be away as I type this enjoying a wonderful time with your son and family and how lovely to see friends on the way back. And then, when you return, you will be able to enjoy your beautiful new home in rest and relaxation and then hopefully I will be back to catch up with you properly on your blog and here on mine and generally have more positive, brighter news. Ahhhhh…deep breath and amen to that! I am indeed doing my best to stay calm. Thank you so much my lovely friend…happy, safe travels as I always say, and again, wishing you the Happiest of Birthdays! With lots of love and special birthday hugs! Sherri πŸ™‚ ❀ xxx

      • Oh, I’m so sorry the house deal fell through. What a stressful time it must have been for you. Our plans have had to change, as my left eye has now developed a macular hole, so I have to have a vitrectomy on Friday 4th August. I hope the op is as successful as the one I had on my right eye last October in South Africa. We found a really lovely eye surgeon close to home in Florida, so weighed up the cost of travelling back to get it done on medical insurance or paying for it here. We decided to have it done here as at least I can recover in the comfort of my own home. Good luck with finishing your memoir. I look forward to reading it one day. 😘

      • Oh Sylvia, I am so sorry to hear of your change of plans and your upcoming eye surgery. I will say a prayer for you on Friday that it goes as well as before and you will recover as quickly as possible. As you say, being in your own home, your beuatiful new home, will aid your recovery greatly. So sorry you had to cut your time with your son and family short though. As you say, plans change but we have to go with it and do what’s best at the time. It’s been such a stressful time with this house situation, as I type this, I’m waiting for ‘the’ call that the people who viewed earlier for the 2nd time are going to put an offer in. That means we get to keep our purchase, as Mum has also sold her house for the second time. I’ll keep you posted and try to pop in to FB here and there, I do need to update a few things… But more importantly, just know I’ll be thinking of you on Friday that it all goes as well as possible. And thanks for your kind words about my memoir. I would be honoured for to read it my dear friend. Love & big hugs to you… ❀ xxx

      • Thanks so much, Sherri. I’m not looking forward to tomorrow, but at least it will then be over and I can concentrate on recovering. I really hope that you now have some good news re your house sale. Fingers crossed for you my friend. xx πŸ™‚

  5. Oh, of course having your loving husband there is helpful and comforting! Hope you have a lovely time with his mother! I enjoy hearing about Kathleen’s long, memorable life! πŸŽ‚ xo

  6. This was a sad but hopeful post, Sylvia. I had hoped the last round of meds had managed to knock the “bug” or some kind of impetus out of your system! Thank you for sharing your sister’s and your photograph! You do look like sisters, “two peas in a pod!” ❀❀
    Hands are something I had not thought about comparing between siblings. . . Hope and pray you won’t come home with any more congestion or persistent cough! It must be special comfort to have your dear sister and friends close by. xo πŸ™

    • Thanks so much, dear Robin. We’re home again now and hopefully am fully recovered. I don’t know what made me suddenly decide to see how our hands compared. Our darling Mom had such beautiful hands, even into old age. ❀ xx

  7. A post chock full of wonder. So glad your lungs are clearing. Hope you’re soon off those pills because that nightmare is a bad one! So funny how our dreams tell us our feelings. You must be feeling that you have a heavy load on your back-lungs. I love the photo of you and your sister-both beautiful women. And the photos are magnificent. Safe travels home!

  8. Hope that you will be feeling much better soon Sylvia and enjoy the rest of your stay here in South Africa and safe travels!
    Take care and regards,
    GAIL

  9. Good to read you are on the mend Sylvia, you couldn’t go around carrying that bed much longer…..some dreams are exhausting! Enjoy catching up with your daughter. You and your sister are very alike.

  10. It is good to learn that some medicines can cause nightmare. I think it could be worst than nightmare. I can imaging that you did not have good rest with the nightmare you had. I am glad your conditions are getting better.

    These are cool shots of the windsurfing!

  11. Sometime we can feel like we live at the doctors’ but it must have been worth to find out there’s nothing too serious wrong with your lungs. I hope you start to feel better soon and can stop the meds. Enjoy the rest of your trip.

  12. So sorry you’ve had these uncomfortable tests and ill health. I pray these preventions work wonders. I know you’ll be back to your joyful-self soon. Blessings πŸ™πŸ»
    Your hubby’s Mom is a testement to a the wonders of longevity. May she continue to bring joy to you both. HAPPY 104TH BIRTHDAY KATHLEEN … much health and love. πŸŽ‚ Have a safe flight back to the shunshine state (secret: it’s been raining everyday for the last 2 weeks).
    Toodles,
    Issy 😎

  13. Being ill is so annoying isn’t it, I do hope you manage to shake off that cough soon. Have a lovely weekend with your daughter and a safe flight to the UK. Sending birthday wishes to Kathleen, hope she is still fighting fit πŸ™‚

  14. I’m a looker, not a do-er, when it comes to water, too, Ad. I do hope you can shake this off! You must need a dose of English weather πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ God speed!

Comments can start a conversation. :)

