B&W Sunday: The Mussel Man after and before.

Paula’s B&W Sunday Challenge this week is ‘After and Before’. Yesterday, whilst walking along the beach footpath, I noticed some activity going on in one of the rock pools.  A mussel collector, wearing snorkel and flippers, was at work filling a bag with tasty morsels. Here is the B&W edit of my shot.

FullSizeRender 5

In the original colour version, he’s far more visible. Must be something to do with the bright yellow flippers.

FullSizeRender 4

One of the guests at my sister’s birthday party on Saturday brought along a plate of delicious bacon-wrapped mussels which he had earlier collected from this same part of the beach. Needless to say, they didn’t last long.

mergeyes_widget

38 comments on “B&W Sunday: The Mussel Man after and before.

  1. The man is easier to spot in the color photo.

    I bet the mussels did not last long at the party , Sylvia! Rick and I love mussels, and mussel soup is often on the menu here in season. Soon it will be too warm to get good mussels here,

  2. Oh, how the water and rocks are so interesting in the black and white. I would be “satisfied” with this version, but then the light playing, the greens shimmering and the swimming mussel collector with his purpose described by you. . . This is truly my favorite surprise of the day! (Yes, it’s early but still extra special, Sylvia.)
    Hugs and friendship sent to you. Summer in an auto parts warehouse drains me, but then the whole world has muchWe on their plates and I try to be content. xo 💖

    • Oh yes, I can only imagine the daily challenges you face in your workplace , Robin. Your beautiful mind and imagination must really be inspiring to others as you go about your tasks. Hugs and friendship are returned to you, along with smiles and love. xx

      • Thanks for your sweet message and I am happy we have remained close over the time passing by. My grandies with blonde hair and pretty blue eyes remind me of your grandchildren. Hope you will be fully healed and blessed with a long time of good health. ❤ xoxo

  3. Ha! Your before and after made me smile. I had no idea what was going on in the B&W photo, and the snorkeler looks like he’s stuck. Just made me smile.

  4. Interesting how much more the color photograph expressed, in this instance, than the B/W. I like the green and browns of the rocks, too, and the various colors of the water. Cheers to you, Sylvia~~

  5. Only when I read your text I noticed him. I thought the rock formation at the front (more to the right) looks like a man on his belly with lighter rocks as his feet. You can see clearly head, torso and legs. He is looking at something n the sand.

  6. Mmm fresh mussels are quite the treat! I like them in a wine sauce with french fries the way the French make them. Mind you, we had them like that in Portugal too.

    Those yellow flippers remind me of bright yellow gum boots.

    Peta

  7. Yes, the yellow flippers and reddish skin tone 😀 I love mussels. I hope he has left some. Sylvia, it is so nice to have you join. Thank you so much 🙂 🙂

  8. Pingback: BLACK & WHITE SUNDAY: AFTER AND BEFORE Y1-05 | Lost in Translation

Comments can start a conversation. :)

