Autumn in New Jersey.

Ailsa’s Travel theme this week has given me a chance to share a few pics of our visit up north to see the family. It was the first time we’d seen our son’s new/old house. Like father, like son, he has recently bought a really neglected property and is having it totally renovated. Unlike us though, he has rented out his other house, which was all nicely done, and the five of them are living on the top floor of the new one, in the newly redecorated three-bedroom guest suite. We stayed at a nearby hotel, but for future visits, this suite will be our accommodation. The leaves were turning, and the unkempt garden definitely had an autumnal look about it.

ISxrrvfcw7nxsh0000000000
The children were so excited to see us, especially as they knew we’d brought them each a ‘goody bag’. Taylor’s class was going on a school trip to Melicks Town Farm the next day, so we decided to tag along. Here she is trying her hand at making apple juice.

DSCN9861

The hay ride, was a first for me. What fun, sitting on hay bales, and bouncing along the bumpy track up to the apple orchard.

DSCN9874

Taylor was so excited that granny was coming too. Dad and Granddad followed along behind.

DSCN9870

There weren’t many apples left on the trees, but we did manage to pick a few.

DSCN9890

This friendly bear was just waiting for a hug.

DSCN9888

Loads of pumpkins everywhere, but which one to choose, and they’re all so big and heavy too? “Daddy, I want this one. Can you please help me?”

DSCN9894

The following day, we were at the park, and ‘Max the Fearless’ was eager to show us that he could climb right to the very top of the Tarzan frame.

DSCN9932

Of course he would rather clamber up the slide than slide down it. The little girl waiting at the top, was so patient. Thankfully she didn’t decide to slide down and kick him in the teeth.

DSCN9929

Two sisters swinging side by side.Β  This reminded me of my sister and I so many years ago. I never imagined that one day, in the autumn of my life, I’d be watching my own grandchildren doing the same thing. Where did all those years go?

DSCN9924

I’m back in Florida now, where autumn doesn’t really manifest itself, although we have had a couple of cooler days and nights to remind us that winter is on the way. I’m so happy that we decided to take the trip up to New Jersey, not only to see family, but also to experience some of the beauty of their autumn.

To see more entries for Ailsa’s Travel theme, just click here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

75 comments on “Autumn in New Jersey.

  1. Although I’d love to be in Florida for Winter, I would miss the change of seasons. You’ve got the best of both worlds, made even sweeter with your family to share some beautiful Fall days.

  2. Isn’t it wonderful being close enough to your grandkiddies to visit more often now? Looks like you had great fun and your son’s house appears to offer great possibilities.

  3. Such a gorgeous family Sylvia and you are the queen of beauty for sure! Your grandkids are just so adorable and I can see all of you had lots of fun. I love Autumn and all the beautiful colours it bring. Stunning shots and thanks for sharing. πŸ˜€ β™₯

  4. I like the house (though not clear view of it) with good space in front. I am sure that your grand children like the space.

    No, Autumn means no work to rake the leaves from the lawn πŸ™‚

  5. I love Taylor’s stance there … you can see she’s putting in 110 % juicing those apples πŸ™‚
    Lots more happy family visits to look forward to when the renovations are finished then Sylvia … that upstairs blacony appeals to me πŸ˜‰

  6. That house is beautiful! And the pictures were all so festively fall. I lived in NJ for years. It’s a beautiful state. Our fall here in Ohio has been wonderful. Temps have been moderate and there are plenty of pumpkin farms and apple orchards to partake of. Is it any wonder this is my favorite season?

  7. Looks like you were enjoying yourself! Always great to visit with family. Some people, men in particular enjoy the reno process!!! Not me, I’ve done far too many renos over the years so I prefer to live somewhere else while work is being done…then I’m good to go…;) but…the new property looks lovely!!! So will be worth the effort.

    • Yes, I wouldn’t want to live in a house whilst it’s being renovated. Been there and done that a few times already. It’s quite a stressful time for our son and his wife, but the children think it’s a great adventure. πŸ™‚ This is really a very big house; six bedrooms and 6.5 bathrooms. It will be a mansion when it’s done.

    • Thanks, Nancy. You really don’t want to see inside the house at the moment; it’s like a construction site. 😯 You can see NYC from the top floor windows. I’m sure it will be amazing once the contractor has finished with it.

  8. Apples and pumpkins and happy children – just the perfect autumn for me. πŸ™‚ Your son’s house looks lovely and promises to be even more gorgeous when all the renovation is done. πŸ™‚

Comments can start a conversation. :)

