Bench Series #47: Life is good

It’s almost the end of the month for Jude’s Bench Series ‘Benches with a message or autumnal theme’.

I know the message isn’t exactly on the benches, but hope these three count. This ‘Genuine Neighbourhood Shoppe’, selling all manner of merchandise, donates 10% of its profits to help children in need. ย  “Life is good,” is always a great message. As for the “Bob’s your uncle and Fannie’s your aunt,” I’ve often heard it said in England, and never thought too much about how this saying originated. I think it’s just a rather cute way of saying, “Everything will be just fine.”

DSCN7095

I hope that life is good for you all, even if like myself you don’t have an uncle Bob or an aunt Fannie. Happy weekend.

55 comments on “Bench Series #47: Life is good

  1. I’ve heard that expression many times and say it too! And I had an Uncle Bob but not an Aunt Fannie ๐Ÿ˜‰ Dear Sylvia, I’m so sorry I’ve been so late in getting over to your posts. It’s been a very strange time – very tough with Aspie D, then a lovely time with the boys, then involved in a car accident yesterday. I am trying my best to catch up…I do so enjoy your posts. Thank you for bringing smiles and joy into my life ๐Ÿ™‚ โค xx

    • Oh Sherri, I’m so sorry that you’ve had some difficult and challenging times lately. I hope you weren’t injured in the accident. It’s always lovely to see you here, and I do appreciate your making the time to visit me. *hugs* โค

      • Thank you so much Sylvia…I just couldn’t believe it happened, like it was slow motion. Nobody was injured thankfully the elderly lady was shaken up but she refused any medical care and the police didn’t come out even though I called them. I’m so very frustrated though as instead of doing the things I want to do I now have to spend time dealing with insurance claims! And my car is less than three months old ๐Ÿ˜ฆ We had a lovely weekend in Brighton though…and hope you are having a good week ๐Ÿ™‚ xx

      • Well, my car is twice the size of hers…but yes, it was surreal and such a heart sickening thud. Horrible. But yes, always looking for plenty of flash fiction ideas … ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  2. I think the shops are so pretty, expressions are funny but each area has their own unique thoughts on family members. My Dad was Bob, โ™ก so you may use him as your uncle and become my cousin. ๐Ÿ™‚ No Aunt Fannie’s. My Mom would be Aunt Rosie, though. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. A great message to convey indeed Sylvia. Life is good and only what we make of it. There is so much to be grateful for and it’s wonderful that there are people out there that think of the ones that doesn’t have it so good. Lovely shot and post. ๐Ÿ˜€ โ™ฅ

  4. I’ve never heard of “Fannie’s your aunt”. Perhaps that used to be part of the phrase and it’s dropped out of use because I know “Bob’s your uncle” well. I take it to mean “job done” – you just do x, y and z and Bob’s your uncle! Anyway, a very ethical shop whatever its name.

  5. I have never heard the term ‘Fannie’s your aunt’, but plenty of uncle Bob’s ๐Ÿ™‚
    I think this is a sign of desperation Sylvia, benches with messages above them? ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

Comments can start a conversation. :)

