Woody gets a bit ruffled.

Mr. Woody wood stork absolutely made my morning today when he showed up for an impromptu photo shoot. I could hardly believe my eyes that he was right there standing stock still in my backyard. Usually he just marches on past and is gone before I can grab my camera.  Not wanting to frighten him away, I crept into the lanai and as silently as I could, slid open the door. He obviously heard me because he turned as if to say, “Whatcha looking at, lady?”

DSCN6639

He then decided to play a trick on me, and pretended that he was going to fly away to the other side of the lake. “Here I go! Ready for take off!”

DSCN6602

But the promise of being internationally famous on WordPress was just too much of a lure, so he settled down again, although his feathers showed that he was slightly ruffled.

DSCN6583

I really like his party piece which he kept repeating at intervals, just in case I’d missed it. He’s pretty good at balancing on just one spindly leg.

DSCN6590

Before he left, I asked him if I could have one final close-up pic so he obligingly fluffed up his beard and presented his left profile, saying all the girls told him this was his best side.

DSCN6615

Then he got bored with posing and stalked off along the bank.

What fun I had out there today with my camera. Hope you’re having a fun Thursday too.

I’m linking this post to Charlotte’s ‘Feathers on Friday ‘ challenge.

 

119 comments on “Woody gets a bit ruffled.

  1. Pingback: Gratitude To Our Global Village - Bloggers of 2018 - Travel Tales of Life

  2. An unusually large flock settled on our pond this week [I believe they are passing through before beginning to nest]. I have been hoping to capture one from our second floor window in the act of flight, but like you, my camera seems never at hand at the proper moment. But Woody with his wings extended reveals part of the beauty.

  3. Pingback: Interesantie raksti #1 |

  4. Pingback: Feathers on Friday – Prairie Birder

Comments can start a conversation. :)