A Surprise Visitor

Yesterday, hubby called me to come and have a look at his progress in the kitchen, as he’d just installed the new oven. Very exciting to see although it won’t be operational for a few weeks when the granite counter tops are in place. Even when I’m supposed to be admiring his handiwork, I always have one eye out of the window so as not to miss any action in the backyard, and suddenly I saw what looked like an owl, fly across my vision and up into a palm tree.

DSCN9356

I decided that the best view would be from my bathroom window. There was a lot of excitement and noise from the smaller birds, who were flying back and forth to the tree where he was precariously perched on a swaying branch. Mr. Owl was not going to be intimidated though, and clung on. I couldn’t get a clear shot, as it was windy and the fronds from a smaller palm tree kept blowing across in front of where he was. I thought this was the best I was going to get.

DSCN9362

Then all of a sudden, he turned and looked straight at me, as the palm fronds magically parted for a split second, and I pressed the shutter, hoping it would be in focus.

DSCN9368

I’m linking this post to Charlotte’s’s ‘Feathers on Friday’ challenge.

Wishing you all a relaxing weekend. Hubby will continue working on the kitchen, and we’re looking forward to having dinner with new friends tomorrow evening.

Save

109 comments on “A Surprise Visitor

  1. Pingback: Bubo the owl is back | anotherdayinparadise

  2. I loved the owl photographs, his leaning down in the branches is so unique and then his turning to look straight at you is so amazing, Sylvia! Huge pride in your ability to take these and am hoping the bird is okay since maybe he is hungry and thirsty and this drove him to become out of sync with his nightime schedule!

    • Thanks so much, Robin. Yes, I hope he is okay. He didn’t stay for very long, but fortunately for me, just long enough to get some photos. I was very thrilled, as I’ve never seen an owl so close before. 🙂

  3. What a great capture. You know, I don’t think I’ve ever seen an owl in the day time. I saw one at night, but it was too dark to photograph. What’s an owl doing in lizard country? You know you’re in the right place when you can see you’re there at the right time!

  4. Wow, not often you get such a clear shot of an owl, that is a beauty! You sure do have an array of wildlife in your neighbourhood! Very interesting.

  5. He looks as surprised to see you! We nearly ran over an owl last week. Came around a corner and a tawny owl was standing in the middle of the road! I braked sharply, he stared at me, then leisurely took to the air. Aren’t they magnificent creatures? You are definitely blessed in wildlife in your new abode. I do miss Mr A though.

  6. Oh my goodness that is amazing, I can feel our excitement, well done you, fantastic photo. We have four baby owls in the garden, we hear them, my husband has seen them, but I cannot get a shot of them at all!

  7. How cool Sylvia – you got yourself a fantastic photograph of the owl. Your new place is very interesting! Your husband is working so hard, soon your kitchen and house will be complete – I can’t imagine living in such organized chaos.

  8. You have some incredible views from your windows, Sylvia. I think this is the guy who keeps an eye on people who spy on the personal moments of others!!! 🙂 Have fun with your friends and I look forward one day to seeing some photos of the kitchen and perhaps a virtual meal.

    janet

Comments can start a conversation. :)