Bubo the owl is back

Yesterday afternoon, I looked out of my bathroom window and apart from a couple of Iggys, there was nothing much to see.

DSCN9593

I had a strange feeling that I was being watched, and peering up into one of the palm trees, I spied Bubo the Great Horned Owl, sitting on the same branch that I saw him on last week. I see that his horns have grown quite a bit.

DSCN9579

His fancy name is ‘Bubo Virginianus’, and these owls can grow to almost two feet tall. Another name for the Great Horned Owl is the ‘Tiger Of The Sky’, probably because of the stripes. This morning, he was still there, and when I opened my blind he was looking right at me. I no longer believe hubby when he tells me that no-one can see into my bathroom from outside. Young Bubo really had me in his sights, even from 30 feet.

DSCN9572

I was curious to find out whether owls eat iguanas, and read that they are one of the iguanas’ natural enemies, and will eat hatchlings and juveniles. Maybe Bubo is going to save us from becoming overrun by these green critters with the long claws. .

DSCN9563

Wishing you all a very happy Monday and an awesome month of August.

 

Save

71 comments on “Bubo the owl is back

  1. Pingback: Feathers On Friday: Is Bubo Back Again? | anotherdayinparadise

  2. Fantastic pics of Bubo and that claw. From what you’ve said, I think you’re expecting an awful lot of Bubo. He needs a family to help him with his exterminating work.

  3. He looks as surprised to see you as you are to see him, Ad! But now he knows how much time you spend in that bathroom he’ll be there all the time. 🙂 Isn’t he a beauty!

  4. Owls are terrible at telling Knock Knock jokes.

    Knock Knock
    Who’s there?
    Hoo
    Hoo who?
    Hoo
    Hoo who?
    Hoo
    I heard you the 1st time . . . Hoo who?
    Hoo
    Be that way. I don’t give a hoot who Hoo is!
    Hoo

Comments can start a conversation. :)