Six Word Saturday: Orchid’s last gasp, one flower left.

My beautiful orchid is now down to its last flower. Time to go out an find another one to grace my bathroom. I’ll tie this to one of the palm trees and hope for the best.

DSCN8556

Happy Memorial Day weekend to all my American friends.

6ws-participating-in-banner

67 comments on “Six Word Saturday: Orchid’s last gasp, one flower left.

  1. I am learning new gardening tips for orchids here. Sylvia, what happens if I don’t have any trees? I may give the orchid “remains,” to my daughter who has a patio and trees. . . πŸ™‚

  2. Hope you find another just as lovely Sylvia. I think orchids and some ferns do best attached to a tree. I used to have green fingers once, not anymore for some reason.

    • Thanks, Cathy. I’m usually the worst person to give a house plant to, but orchids are really easy. I also have two cacti which are thriving on a bathroom windowsill. Now I’m bragging, aren’t I? πŸ˜•

  3. I wished I could tie my orchids to a tree outside! As things stand, they usually start blooming in the winter and won’t quit for many months. The phaeleonopsis (sp.?) are easy and thrive on benign neglect. I acquired two other kinds (forgot their names) that insist on diva treatment and only one of them has bloomed since I bought them two years ago.

    • Thanks for your comment, Annette. I have mixed success with orchids, but I’m getting better at looking after them, now I know not to water them too much. They do like a bit of misting once a week too, to counteract the drying effects of the aircon.

  4. Lovely color on this orchid … I have several in the same palette. They bloom quite easily.
    When you tie it to your tree branch be sure to add water soaked spagnum moss following each revolution around the tree. It keeps the roots from being damage by the cord. It will keep the roots wet until a rainy day. Be sure to use rope or cord not fishing line or nylon rope. I have a few on my trees. But, I enjoy them best on my lanai. Good Luck …🌺
    Happy Sunday …!!!
    Issy 😎

  5. My mini orchid from IKEA last year in the bathroom, just started to bloom and the second flower is open. I just left it in the hope it will come again and it did. Same colour as yours, just smaller. They are lovely!

Comments can start a conversation. :)

